Last Updated: June 9, 2024

National Security Agency of the Government of Eritrea


National Security Office of the Government of Eritrea; Служба за национална сигурност на правителството на Еритрея; Eritreas regerings nationella säkerhetsmyndigheten; Eritreas regerings nationella säkerhetstjänst; Eritrean hallituksen kansallinen turvallisuusvirasto; Nacionalna varnostna agencija vlade Eritreje; Nacionalni varnostni urad vla...

Linked to

Official reason

The National Security Office (a.k.a. National Security Agency) of the Government of Eritrea is headed by Major General Abraha Kassa and is under the supervision of the Office of the President. The National Security Office is organised into six offices, each of which is divided into three sections responsible for intelligence, arrests and interrogat...

Other Information

(Date of UN designation: 2021-03-22)

Date of listing


Program information




Restrictive measures against serious human rights violations and abuses



Target State

Human Rights


Asset freeze and prohibition to make funds available, Restrictions on admission

Sanctions Portfolio

- All assets of the listed persons and entities should be frozen. It is also prohibited to make any funds or assets directly or indirectly available to them. - Member States shall enforce travel restrictions on persons listed in the Annex of Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/1999

Official Information

On 9 December 2019, the Council welcomed the launch by the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy of preparatory work to establish a horizontal EU sanctions regime against serious human rights violations and abuses. On 17 November 2020, the Council approved conclusions on the EU Action Plan on Human Rights and Demo...

Program URL